Back in London! Time for ACT-ion.

420_london_1205-420x0

So, now I’ve been back in London for seven weeks, but I’ve gotten a taste of what’s its like being a ‘real’ actor, and getting paid for doing what I like. Moreover, I now know that I love being on film sets, and just like Oliver Twist, I want more.

What have I done within those seven weeks? Well, I signed up to more popular casting websites (Casting Call Pro, and Talent Talks). I have now found out the hard way, that the headshots I got done in Canada cannot be used in the UK. The UK style of headshot is different and not only will some casting sites reject them, but acting agents will reject them too.

Nevertheless, once again, I quickly managed to get unpaid work through Star Now, which I am grateful for as it still goes on my resume. I do however want paid work, so had been applying frantically for multiple roles through Casting Call Pro (this site has loads of paid roles). This is where I found out the importance of a good and valid headshot. That’s now going to cost me around £200 for good ones.

I also need a show reel. Those are going for about £300. Next, acting classes to freshen my skills, these are £200 for 6-8 weeks. Singing lessons…well you get the picture. This has meant that I’m now back in the classroom as a supply teacher. I refuse to commit to teaching. I’m also working for a theatre in order to keep my eye on the prize.

What about acting agents? There are lots out here in the UK. Within the seven weeks I have been in the UK I have applied to about five agencies. Two of those I have auditions/ interviews with later in the summer, but I found out that three of those agencies so far have been scam agencies.

I’ve always known that if an agent or agency asks you for money up front for joining them than it’s a scam. However, these scam agencies have become more sophisticated with how they get money from people. Obviously, I cannot name these small London based agencies, YET, as a small number of clients on their books do get work, but the vast majority do not.

So how does it work? How do they suck you in? I’ll tell you about my experiences.

1. Agency number one and two

I sent my acting resume, Canadian headshots, and Star Now profile page to both these agencies on the same day. I got a response from both agencies on the same day saying that their casting directors were really interested in meeting me. Both agencies made appointments with me on different days. Appointment with agency number one was for a general meeting to discuss my experience and goals, and my appointment with agency number two was to see how I looked on camera. They told me that if I looked good enough they would contact me and we would have a meeting. Apparently I looked good enough.

Both meetings with these agencies led to discussions about portfolios. I found this confusing, as I wanted to join their agencies as an actor and actors have headshots not modelling portfolios. However, both agencies told me that I would earn a great deal of money doing some modelling as well as acting so getting a portfolio was the best option. They discussed commercial work, music videos and high street print work. These options made sense at the time as actors get paid to do these things.

Agent number two even told me that he managed to get me a casting for catalogue work with a company, but I had to get my portfolio done ASAP, as the casting was in four days! Both portfolios were around £300, and agent number one even took £100 deposit to ensure that I attended a photo session with her photographers.

Agent number two asked me to leave my handbag behind to ensure that I returned to the agency and paid for my portfolio. Needless to say that neither story ends well. I pulled out of both agencies before I paid or lost anything more. Nonetheless, even though I’ve made it clear that I’m not interested in doing any type of business with them, they both insist on bothering me. I’m still dealing with getting my bag back from agency number two and there have been other issues…

2. Agency number three advertised on one of casting websites. This agency set up an audition time and gave me a location to attend the audition. Problem with this agency is that they don’t have a website and wouldn’t tell me the name of the agency when I asked. I therefore had to pull out of the audition.

Interestingly, when I was in Canada the first two agencies I applied to were both legitimate agencies. I never had an issue with scam agents over there. Not sure why I’ve come across three in London.

 

Leave a comment